A Week-Long Collection of Indian Adventures

And like Leo said, adventures I did have!

Ariana and I spent three days in Delhi, one in Agra, and three in Varanasi. During this time, I happened to rip my pants five times, spend 15 hours on the lowest train class sweating my butt off, meet more amazing people/fellow travelers, and see another Ganga Aarti (my favorite)! It was the most beautiful week of exploration.

My obsession... the Ganga Aarti. This time in Varanasi!

My obsession… the Ganga Aarti. This time in Varanasi!

I can officially say I’ve been to three Ganga Aartis… three more than most people (even Indians!) get to see in their lifetimes.

The beautiful flowers we tossed into the Ganga for the Aarti.

The beautiful flowers we tossed into the Ganga for the Aarti.

We met some amazing people in Varanasi. Some of them were new to India, some had been here five times before, all were a ton of fun and I am so grateful to have met them.

We made some American friends to celebrate Fourth of July with! And got this auto-rickshaw for 5 rupees total... How? Magic.

We made some American friends to celebrate Fourth of July with!
And got this auto-rickshaw for 5 rupees total… How? Magic.

And, of course, you can’t go to Indian without getting lost in the streets.

11822893_964232023627850_436540484778144606_o

Me exploring the streets of Varanasi

Ariana and I spent some time exploring the shores of Varanasi… Almost fainted from the heat, but we got to see some incredible views.

A panoramic view of Varanasi from the shore... absolutely stunning.

A panoramic view of Varanasi from the shore… absolutely stunning.

I asked a street vendor to teach me to make chai so I wouldn’t have to miss it at home. I guess I was pretty happy about it!

11223867_922583161136846_3845410680468759054_n

I seem to REALLY enjoy my chai…

Got to see a World Wonder!

ArianaMeTaj

Ariana and I take on the Taj!

And my favorite activity… visiting temples.

MeVaranasiTemple

Caught on camera by Ariana–exploring a temple in Varanasi!

Ariana and I visit a Sikh Temple... and get stopped for a picture!

Ariana and I visit a Sikh Temple… and get stopped for a picture!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Morgan Fitzgerald. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Fitzgerald

Morgan Fitzgerald is a freshman planning to double major in International Studies and Environmental Science in the College of Literature, Science and the Arts. Morgan is passionate about exploring the tension between economic development and environmental sustainability, particularly in the realm of sustainable farming. Morgan will be spending five weeks volunteering with Navdanya located outside of Dehradun near Bharpur. Navdanya promotes biodiversity conservation, organic farming, the rights of farmers and the process of seed saving. Morgan will spend her days sowing seeds, cooking food and strengthening camaraderie with other local volunteers on the farm. She will also have the opportunity to explore the administrative side of Navdanya. Morgan’s research will focus on Nadanya as an organization and will consider how it goes about fulfilling its mission, the extent to which it is successful and other strategies it may employ.

2 thoughts on “A Week-Long Collection of Indian Adventures

  1. I’ve been following your series this entire day. What’s the word I’m looking for? Oh yeah – fascinating. You have described India so well. It feels good to see our country from your perspective 🙂 a little more time in Mumbai the next time you or your friends manage to come. Hit me up for free accommodation, if possible, or a free guide for anywhere in Mumbai (definitely possible)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much!! India really touched me and I can only hope that it shows through my words. I would love to come to Mumbai. I wasn’t able to explore that area of India on this trip, but I’m hoping to return in the near future! Thank you for your kindness and your following! As a blogger, it’s incredibly rewarding to know people are actually reading what I write!! (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

